Rusting hulk from a whaling past, now reclaimed by nature
Ocean Harbour, on South Georgia’s northeast coast, was once known as New Fortune Bay (indeed, its Spanish name is still Puerto Nueva Fortuna). By the 1950s, surveyors reported that it was known locally as Ocean Harbour, probably after the Ocean Whaling Company that once used the inlet as its base of operations on South Georgia. Because of the potential for confusion with nearby Fortuna Bay, its name was changed to the one in local usage.
Ocean Harbor has some notable human history, including a cemetery which contains the oldest grave on the island, that of sealer Frank Cabrial who was buried here in 1820. There are also old try pots still visible, used for the rendering of seal blubber.
More recent relics can be seen that date back to its time as a whaling station, including the remains of a narrow-gauge steam locomotive that was used to haul coal and supplies to and from the ships.
There’s also a wreck in Ocean Harbour - the Bayard. She was a three-masted, iron-hulled ship over 200ft long that broke free from her moorings during a storm in 1911 and wrecked on the other side of the harbor from the coaling station where she was tied up.
Now, in a sign of nature reclaiming the past, blue-eyed shags can be seen nesting on the grass that grows in abundance on the rotting deck of this 1000 ton former coal hauler.
Interesting facts about Ocean Harbour
The rusting hulk of the Bayard is a reminder of the harbor's heyday as a whaling base. A visit to the small cemetery gives chance for a sobering reflection of the harshness of life for sealers and whalers in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Highlights Close to Ocean Harbour
South Georgia and Scotia Sea
Snow Hill Hut
Animals in Ocean Harbour
Our trips to Ocean Harbour